forty3degrees

Windows Phone Development

Breaking Change in the Latest Mango Build

with 2 comments

Recently I received an error report from feed me that had me stumped. I couldn’t reproduce the problem no matter how hard I tried.

As it turned out the report came from an internal beta tester for Mango who was running the latest build from last week. Thankfully he was willing to do some ‘remote debugging’ (me sending him a xap with extra logging) so I could locate the cause of the problem.

The error was caused by a change in the behaviour of the WebBrowser control. This change is only in the lastest build and not in the Mango beta recently distributed to developers and reviewers. In previous builds when calling the WebBrowser.NavigateToString(string) method the URI passed in the LoadCompleted event was null. I had the following code in the article page in feed me:

private void uxWebBrowser_LoadCompleted(object sender, NavigationEventArgs e)
{
    if (e.Uri == null)
    {
        ...
    }
}

In the latest build the Uri member passed is an empty Uri, meaning that I needed to check against null or an empty Uri:

if ((e.Uri == null) || (e.Uri.OriginalString == string.Empty))
{
    ...
}

I thought I should post this just in case anyone else out there relies on this behaviour. I’m not sure if this will make it into the final release of Mango, but if it does it has the potential to break a few apps. I was lucky enough to have two very understanding (and patient)¬†people report this error, allowing me to fix it in feed me V1.7.

Written by calum

July 5, 2011 at 12:36 pm

Posted in Windows Phone

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [...] Read original post at forty3degrees [...]

  2. [...] Read original post at forty3degrees [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

